The vines cascade down therocky terraces and hills, standing on quaternary marls, built of limestone and softer layers. The hillside orients  east-west thus provide the following advantages:

vignoble

– Full sunlight
– Resting above the « Eygues » river, Vinsobres escapes spring frost and benefits from the great humidity in the soils.
– Thanks to a large plateau, the cold northern winds, or « Mistral », are avoided. This plays an important role in avoiding the frost. It also has a very important role regarding the frost again

 

Fourth generation wine maker and owner, François Vallot, has been been at the head of the wine-estate since July 1976. He has continued with his father’s policy; a careful choice of grape varieties enabling the production of vintage quality wines.

The exceptional climate of Vinsobres coupled with François’s true passion has allowed him to obtain the French organic certification « AB » in 2003. One year later he earned the “Ecocert – DEMETER” certification, and started biodynamic farming methods on his 30 hectare vineyard.

The vines are cultivated and worked according to the seasons and the lunar calendar, respecting the biodynamic specifications. Through hard work and dedication, the Vallot Winery team of employees nurtures the highest quality of grapes and ensures the best of quality in wine production.

Les vignes situées en coteaux et terrasses caillouteuses, reposent sur des marnes du quaternaire, roche très tendre et calcaire. Le coteau orienté d’Est en Ouest, profite d’une position privilégiée pour trois raisons :

vignoble– Son orientation générale lui donne un ensoleillement maximum.
– Cette situation, élevée au-dessus de l’Eygues, lui épargne les gelées blanches et printanières que favorise bien souvent l’humidité du sol dans les bas-fonds.
– Le plateau qui le domine atténue les effets violents du Mistral, sans toutefois le priver du rôle bienfaisant que joue souvent ce vent dans nos régions (évite les gelées printanières par le brassage de l’air qu’il assure).

Quatrième génération de vignerons, François Vallot est à la tête du Domaine depuis le 1er juillet 1976. Il s’est attaché à poursuivre la politique de qualité engagée par son père qui avait depuis longtemps établi un encépagement permettant les assemblages les plus remarquables dans un vignoble généreux.

Le caractère exceptionnel du climat de Vinsobres et la passion de François Vallot ont permis la certification du vignoble en Agriculture Biologique en 2003, pratiques déjà installées depuis de nombreuses années dans ses vins, puis vers la certification biodynamique DEMETER en 2004.

Ainsi, les vignes sont toujours labourées et cultivées selon le rythme des saisons en respectant le cahier de charges de la Biodynamie, certifiées « par Ecocert, mention Demeter ». Ce soin apporté par un personnel qualifié et fidèle permet d’obtenir une vendange d’une qualité exemplaire, base essentielle à l’élaboration de grands vins.